IEEE ICC 2016 Workshop on Massive Uncoordinated Access Protocols
Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre
Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia), May 27 2016

Uncoordinated multiple access protocols, with random access protocols as their best-known class, represent a key element of wireless communication networks where users in a very large and dense population wish to exchange data over a shared medium. These protocols become especially relevant for systems that feature sporadic and unpredictable access activity and/or support delay-critical applications, such as real-time machine-type communications, interactive satellite communications, etc. While traditional access protocols consider collisions as a loss of signaling resources and therefore are designed to avoid them, in recent years several innovative developments have been proposed, such as physical layer network coding and various techniques based on successive interference cancellation (SIC), where interference is embraced and utilized creatively. These developments have opened a completely new perspective for uncoordinated protocols, paving the way to dramatic performance improvements, and rendering the throughput of random access channels competitive with that of typical coordinated protocols. Besides the performance improvement, these new approaches created a novel conceptual link to error control codes and brain-inspired massive networks, thereby opening fundamentally new problems for two rather separated research communities. Finally, low-complexity and spectrally efficient random access protocols may completely change the way scheduled and random access are supported in future standards. The goal of this workshop is to stimulate innovative contributions to the topic, with emphasis on the fundamental limits, on the cross-layer interactions between the MAC and PHY layers, and on connections to coding theory. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
  • Fundamental limits on uncoordinated random access protocols
  • Fundamental limits on random access with successive interference cancellation
  • Network coding and physical-layer network coding in multiple access schemes
  • Signal processing for successive interference cancellation
  • Joint multiuser detection
  • Wireless access protocols for:
    • Massive M2M communications
    • Massive Internet-of-Everything
    • Ultra-dense wireless networks
    • Vehicular and satellite networks
    • Large-scale wireless sensor networks
  • Innovative techniques for 5G radio access networks
  • Random access with spatial diversity
  • Random access protocols for real-time applicationss
  • Information flow in brain-inspired massive networks

Technical Program

All sessions will be held in Meeting Room 405, Level 4

9:00-10:00 - WS-14-01
Keynote Speech

Coding-Inspired Design of Massive Multiple Access
Prof. Krishna Narayanan (Texas A&M University)

10:00-10:30 - WS-14-02
Performance of Uncoordinated Medium Access Schemes - I

Neighbor Discovery in Wireless Networks: A Graph-based Analysis and Optimization
Andrea Stajkic (DEI, University of Bologna, Italy); Federico Clazzer (German Aerospace Center, Germany); Gianluigi Liva (German Aerospace Center, Germany)

On the Sparsity for Random Access in Machine Type Communications under Frequency-Selective Fading
Jinho Choi (Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea)

11:00-12:00 - WS-14-03
Performance of Uncoordinated Medium Access Schemes - II

Identifying Randomly Activated Users via Sign-Compute-Resolve on Graphs
Čedomir Stefanović (Aalborg University, Denmark); Dejan Vukobratović (University of Novi Sad, Serbia); Jasper Goseling (University of Twente, The Netherlands); Petar Popovski (Aalborg University, Denmark)

Bayesian QAM demodulation and activity detection for multiuser communication systems
Gabor Hannak (Vienna University of Technology, Austria); Martin Mayer (Vienna University of Technology, Austria); Gerald Matz (Vienna University of Technology, Austria); Norbert Goertz (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)

Cross Talk MAC: a Directional MAC Scheme for Enhancing Frame Aggregation in mm-Wave Wireless Personal Area Networks
Peng Wang (RWTH Aachen University, Germany); Marina Petrova (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)

A Novel Detection Algorithm for Random Multiple Access based on Physical-Layer Network Coding
Zhuo Sun (University of New South Wales. Australia, Australia); Lei Yang (Beijing Institute of Technology, Australia); Jinhong Yuan (University of New South Wales, Australia); Marco Chiani (University of Bologna, Italy)

12:00-12:30 - WS-14-04
Interactive Session

Useful Information

Call for Papers (PDF)

For authors


Past Editions



2013 First DLR Workshop on Random Access and Coding

Important Dates

Submission deadline: December 4, 2015
Acceptance notification: February 21, 2016
Camera-ready papers: March 13, 2016

Workshop Chairs

Andrea Munari, RWTH University Aachen
Enrico Paolini, University of Bologna

International Advisory Committee

Federico Boccardi, Ofcom UK
Marco Chiani, University of Bologna
Anthony Ephremides, University of Maryland
Soung Liew, Chinese University of Hong-Kong
Petar Popovski, Aalborg University
Christian Schlegel, Dalhousie University
Gerhard Wunder, Fraunhofer H. Hertz Institute
Michele Zorzi, University of Padova

Technical Program Committee

Giuseppe Abreu, Jacobs University
Fulvio Babich, University of Trieste
Matteo Berioli, TriaGnoSys GmbH
George Chrisikos, Qualcomm
Giuseppe Cocco, German Aerospace Center
Giulio Colavolpe, University of Parma
Lin Dai, City University of Hong Kong
Riccardo De Gaudenzi, ESA-ESTEC
Mark Flanagan, University College Dublin
Michael Gastpar, EPFL
Majid Ghaderi, CS University of Calgary
Jasper Goseling, Twente University
Alexandre Graell i Amat, Chalmers University
Deniz Gunduz, Imperial College London
Gerhard Kramer, TU Munich
Michael Lentmaier, University of Lund
Shao-Yu Lien, National Formosa Univ. Taiwan
Gianluigi Liva, German Aerospace Center
Lu Lu, The Chinese University of Hong-Kong
Rockey Luo, Colorado State University
Hichan Moon, Hanyang University
Krishna Narayanan, Texas A&M
Stephan Pfletschinger, CTTC
Sandro Scalise, German Aerospace Center
Osvaldo Simeone, NJ Institute of Technology
Čedomir Stefanović, Aalborg University
Dejan Vukobratović, University of Novi Sad
Hiroyuki Yomo, Kansai University
Andrea Zanella, University of Padova